The University of Illinois Office of University Counsel

University of Illinois System

Leadership Team

Leadership TeamThe leadership team includes the University Counsel, one Deputy University Counsel and three Campus Counsels. In order to support a complex, multifaceted client like the University, the Office is organized in a manner that best meets the needs of the client by allowing the attorneys to be readily available and within close proximity to their clients.

University Counsel Campus Offices


University Counsel, 
Thomas R. Bearrows


Deputy University Counsel, 
Scott E. Rice


Campus Legal Counsels
Urbana-Champaign, Lisa M. Power
Chicago, John B. Alsterda
Springfield, Rhonda R. Perry